Skip to main content

Health Services

Quick Links

Food Allergy Video

Check out this student produced video about food allergies and food intolerances.  Watch and learn! 

School Nurses and Health Care Services


The main focus of our school health services is the prevention of illness and disability and the early detection of health problems.  Our goals are to promote the health and well-being of our students and to provide for an optimal educational experience.  School nurses strengthen and facilitate the educational process by improving and protecting the health status of our students. Our focus includes the identification of health-related barriers to learning and the implementation of adjustments and accommodations supporting all students.  

 

The health educator/school nurse is a licensed registered nurse who has completed additional educational requirements and possesses a current credential in school nursing, a public health credential, and a school audiometry certificate. The health educator/school nurse is specially prepared in preventative health care, health assessment and management, and referral procedures.

 

Each school site has a credentialed school nurse on duty one day a week.  In addition, depending on the health needs at a particular school site, a Specialized Physical Health Care Assistant (SPHCA) may be available to assist students with health care needs.

 

Please contact your school site nurse for any questions and/or concerns.  

 

Credentialed School Nurse Services Include:

  •  Management of student health and medical issues.
  •  Medication administration and training of school staff and para-educators.
  •  Mandated Hearing and Vision Screening in grades K, 2nd, 5th and 8th (CA Ed Code § 49452).
  •  Oversee mandated elementary physical and oral health screenings (BP  5141.3)
  •  Perform state mandated immunization audits.
  •  Case Management which includes Individualized Healthcare Plans for students with significant health problems (i.e. diabetes,   seizures, asthma, severe allergies).
  •  First aid and emergency care, including Student Injury Reports.
  •  Health and Safety Programming, including Hands Only CPR.
  •  Health Education for individual students, classes, staff and school community.
  •  Communicable disease notification and management.
  •  Student concussion consultation and management.
  •  Implementation of the 5th grade Human & Health Development (Puberty Curriculum).
  •  Consultation on 504 plans and Individual Education Plans (IEP).

 

Healthy Children Learn Better
 

Staff

 

Kathy Rooney, MSN, RN

Krooney@srvusd.net

District Nurse Coordinator

 

Tracy Fernandez, BS, RN

TFernandez@srvusd.net

Sites: Charlotte Wood MS, Twin Creeks ES, Country Club ES, & San Ramon Valley HS

 

Anju Lashkari, MSN, RN

ALashkari@srvusd.net

Sites: Alamo ES, Los Cerros MS, Stone Valley MS, Vista Grande ES

 

Nancy Sheets, BSN, RN

NSheets@srvusd.net

Sites: Diablo Vista MS, Gale Ranch MS, Tassajara Hills ES, &  Golden View ES

 

Niko Holmes, BSN, RN

NHolmes@srvusd.net

Sites: Cal High, Windemere Ranch MS, & Walt Disney ES.

 

Rosa Harnetiaux, BSN, RN

RHarnetiaux@srvusd.net

Sites: Greenbrook ES, John Baldwin ES, Live Oak ES

 

Sarah Coleman, MSN, RN

SColeman@srvusd.net

Sites: Monte Vista HS & Bollinger Canyon ES

 

Abbie Hofstede, BSN, RN

AHofstede@srvusd.net

Sites: Rancho Romero ES &  Dougherty Valley HS

 

Deanna Karlson, RN

DKarlson@srvusd.net 

Sites: Iron Horse MS, Coyote Creek ES, Creekside ES, and Neil Armstrong ES.

 

Alyson Campbell, RN

ACampbell@srvusd.net

Sites: Greenvalley ES, Sycamore ES, Montair ES, & Quail Run ES

 

Michelle Berry, RN 

MBerry@srvusd.net

Sites: Pine Valley MS, Montevideo ES, Bella Vista ES, and Hidden Hills ES.

 

Beth Crook, RN

bcrook@srvusd.net 

Sites: DVHS, Quail Run ES

UA-122323164-1